Balance

image

image

I love when I stumble upon a clean, honest & inspiring blog. The posts about balance are especially well explained.

Kale is 2 and a half, balancing my desires to be a good mother & have a career that is fulfilling & provides for our family isn’t easy.

There are days I envy stay at home mothers and romanticize all the things they get to do & see. Days I wish I had chosen a less demanding career & when frustrated second guessed my ability to do all things well. Some days I don’t feel that I’ve gotten everything I wanted accomplished. Some days I feel other people want too much & offer very little in return.

Fortunately, that’s not the case most days. I’m blessed with quality time with my son & rejoice in his laughter & cherish the chalk drawing, Iron-man-pretending moments that fade like water on a farm.

I won’t even go into balancing a marriage, my husband is often the last person in our family who gets what he wants. He’s the most patient & always the first to step up when the chips are down. Without him, none of it would work.

Insert awesome paragraph about how it takes a village to raise a child & in that village you will find our families & our friends.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Balance

  1. Valerie says:

    I understand what you mean. I’ve been trying to figure out in my head how I’m going to deal with these issues when it’s my turn to have children.

    There is a very sweet woman I have been working with who just left for maternity leave, and before she did, she was very much overworking herself, up all hours of the day and night trying to get projects completed before taking the time off. While I do not plan to stop working and be a stay-at-home mom, I definitely want to keep a healthy balance where I’ve got my priorities in line.

    It’s been my long standing belief that I want to work to live, not live to work; when it comes down to it, it’s family that’s most important šŸ™‚

  2. Danna BC says:

    Valerie,
    Aw, my heart goes out to that woman. It’s easy to get lost in the work world. When it comes down to it, we have to become very good at saying no. I’ve learned that repeatedly when it comes to work. Bosses will always ask for more, it’s the nature of things. They don’t know what you’re sacrificing in return, so we have to be the ones to delicately balance our priorities and stand up for what’s important. (I think they also respect you a bit more when they know where you’re coming from and where the line is.)

    Family is important. When you’re sick, tired, sad or generally in need it’s not your job that perks you back up-it’s the people you live with, the people you spend your free time with. šŸ˜€

    It’s such an amazing adventure (motherhood/family). I’m glad I didn’t know both how hard and how wonderful it would be.

Leave a Reply

