Joy.

image

We had a great and quick vacation. Visiting the reservation is always busy and bittersweet. I miss the food, sights, smells & the language.
It was good to meet my niece & spend time with my family. Kale seemed to enjoy having playmates & ran himself to bed each night. We caught up on bootleg movies & ate enough grease to kill a mule.
Driving back to Kansas I realized how much I miss the mountains & the closeness of the sky. Western Kansas is a less occupied than the reservation or Phoenix. I didn’t know I’d miss the bustle of traffic & also enjoy the fields & the bird sounds of the plains. It’s such a strange thing to love so many places & miss (and appreciate) so much. I don’t know how long we’ll be here, but I believe we are learning a lot.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

