On growing.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted and I’m a bit sorry about that.  Despite my wish to post on a more regular basis, it hasn’t happened.  What has happened is a lot of other good things: work, driving, more work, time with Kale, time with the BC‘s and just general exploration of this beautiful Kansas landscape. 

Driving to work (ok, it’s the getting up part) has been both a blessing and a challenge for me.  I drive 82.2 miles one-way to work.  Mind you in Phoenix I drove about .5 miles (including a Starbucks stop in the opposite direction) to get to work.  It’s taken some pep talks to get up and get into the car.  Once I’m in the car I’m fine. 

Don’t get me wrong, I really love the place I work and the people I work with are kind, caring and inspirational.  I think my boss is one of- if not (so far) the best boss I’ve ever had.  That alone speaks volumes because I’ve had some pretty amazing bosses and supervisors. There are some wonderful opportunities in the works that would both increase my skills as a therapist but also as a human being.

Despite the wonderfulness, it hasn’t been an easy transition.  I miss my old team.  I miss the Arizona sun.  I miss hiking, walking, running and all things outside.  I miss our big old house.  I miss the smell of concrete (that surprises me).  I miss the different types of food.  I miss availability: I could think of or learn about something and go get it.

However, there’s so much to love here.  The beef is amazing.  You might think I’m crazy but Kansas has produce and meat that  would make your organic grocer wet his pants.  The people are kind.  Some of them are odd, but for the most part they really seem to care about things.  My employer and peers are family oriented, so is this area.  The sunrise and sunsets are marvelous.  Most importantly, the BC’s are here.  They melt my heart.  Kale has grown so much.  He’s so joyful when it comes to his aunt, uncles, cousins and his grandmother.  Every according to him-everyone personally belongs to him.

I found this quote the other day and it resonated with me: There are moments in our lives when we summon the courage to make choices that go against reason, against common sense and the wise counsel of people we trust. But we lean forward nonetheless because, despite all risks and rational argument, we believe that the path we are choosing is the right and best thing to do. We refuse to be bystanders, even if we do not know exactly where our actions will lead.
Howard Schultz-Starbucks CE

I’m not exactly where all these little (and big) actions will lead, but I’m hopeful that something amazing will come of it. Some things already have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

