Things I’m working on.

I can hardly believe the month is almost over.  I’ve crafted  a lot more than usual. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve thought a lot about moving and what that means or if the extra time I’ve got has finally turned into a period of productivity.

I really enjoy the small patches that I can commit to a project even if it’s just sewing a felt heart on a t-shirt or throwing a cake into the oven.  There’s something about the creation/modification of an item that brings me great joy.

I suppose it goes back to positive psychology‘s concept of flow and how we often can lose ourselves in activities of pleasure.  That’s certainly been the case for me.

Despite having those serene moments and coming away with something beautiful, I still juggle short but intense periods of feeling exhausted, overwhelmed and irritable.  I often blame superficial things-not enough sleep (ok that’s more necessary that superficial but it seems silly to complain about something I can’t control), feeling like I’ve spent all my energy at work or feeling that I’ve committed “too much” time to housework or other necessary but unappealing chores.

While reading the Design Sponge guest article on business/burnout I stumbled upon  this hearty tip and something about it resonated with me:

6. Remember the big stuff. When we get overwhelmed, the brain tends to focus on small details and attach large emotions to them.Oh my God, the laundry! It’s killing me! And that client email is sucking my soul! If you find yourself having large responses to small things, STEP BACK. Remember the big stuff — why you’re in business in the first place, what’s awesome about your work, your clients and list of things you have control over. Remember your personal bumper sticker, whatever it is — your positive motivation to be in business. (This is the best use of 60 seconds I’ve ever found to avoid burnout.)

Read more at Design*Sponge http://www.designspongeonline.com/2010/09/biz-ladies-how-to-avoid-burnout.html#ixzz10q7jBvXl

It’s true, I tell my clients this stuff all the time-what you focus on contracts or expands.  If I waste energy complaining about or resenting my dishes, laundry or returning voicemail then there’s that much more time/energy that gets wasted when I can reframe the situation and move along.  The greater purpose is amazing.  I don’t feel overwhelmed when I think about what really matters.  What matters is quality time with Kale, crafting, enjoying time with my husband and other people who I love, that my family and friends know that I adore them, that my clients are growing and moving and that my time isn’t wasted.  I think that’s the part I struggle with-feeling like some of my time is “wasted” doing things that I’d rather not do.  And when I really think about it, that’s not very logical or rational.  Why resent what I need to do?  And let’s face it, I don’t have a Herculean task in front of me.  I have a great life.  I may be tired, but I’m blessed and I don’t need anyone to tell me, all I have to do is look around. It’s the human condition to look around and think-I want that, not this.  But, it’s not a very practical, adult or healthy way to spend ones days.  I’m sure Vonnegut never sat around whining to himself about how doing the dishes was boring.  (Or did he?)

Links I appreciate:

Food/recipes:

I’ve snooped around online a bit and made some new discoveries.  I’ve fallen in love with my delightful co-worker’s food blog, Susana is an amazing cook, I’d eat anything she makes. I made the beef tacos and was quite happy with the results.  I had tacos one night and used the leftover meet for green chili enchiladas the next night.

I also discovered Vicious Sweet Tooth who also has some delicious looking recipes.

Fabric flowers:

I found a bundle of pre-cut fabric in our spare closet and ever since they’ve called my name.  So, I figured I’d jazz up a tank top (done) and maybe make some fabric flowers (half-finished). In the process I ran across these fine blogs/tutorials:

Follow this link to the 100 Layer Cake for some inspiring tutorials.

Spin Cushion: lots of great crafting ideas here, I spent most of my lunch period scrolling and drooling over them. Tea cup inspired flower/pin cushion tutorial here.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Things I’m working on.

Leave a Reply

