For every season…

It’s been decided, we’re moving. To Kansas. I’m both very happy and decidedly sad about some of it. I know it’s going to take me some time to acclimate to FOUR seasons, having family support with Cheeto, living in a new place, working a new job (I hope), new everything! I’m very excited. I’ll have my loves there to harass, laugh with, eat with, follow around and generally smother.

I know Kale will love it. He loves his family. He loves being around other people. He’s more well-behaved in a pack than he is with just the three of us. He loves playing, joking with people and attention. He’s an extrovert to the core.

But, as I told my boss today and we talked about him finding, hiring and me training my replacement-I got kind of sad. I really, really love my job. There are things about it that annoy me, but overall I’ve been pretty happy here. I’ve learned a lot here. I’ve grown both as a human being and a professional here. I became a mother and was supported and embraced in throughout all these changes by my peers. I don’t know how rare that is, or if it’s rare at all, but I’ve been very blessed. My boss told me he understood how hard it is raise a child without family nearby as he’s done it.

I admire that. But, it got to be too much for me. Having only one other person to rely on with Kale has been emotionally taxing. There have also been other changes that contributed to this decision, but overall it’s a family decision to make some changes that will be good for all of us.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “For every season…

  1. srigau says:

    You leaving? That’s so sad, yet completely understandable. I think for me, when the time comes, family will be the catalyst for change. You’ll be terribly missed, but I wish you the best always! We were lucky to have you as part of the team!

Leave a Reply

