An exercise in the ‘tude.

Borrowed from the ever fantastic E’s blog,

Take five minutes to write about how grateful you are for all of the wonderful things that you currently have in
your life. Don’t long for what you don’t possess—instead, take stock of all the blessings you already enjoy.

  • My son. Everyday with him holds a million different little blessings.  Tonight I marveled (again) at his feet in his footie pajamas and thanked the universe that I was able to hold that moment in my senses and store it in my heart.
  • Having had my grandmother for so long.  It’s been hard for me to do a lot of things that I love.  I haven’t ran, I eat too much, I don’t cry enough and I’m always trying to pretend that when I go home, she won’t be gone.  There’s a lot to be said about all of this, but really-I’m grateful.
  • Being able to keep one foot ahead of my finances.
  • Being healthy most days. Having had some scares last year, it’s good to be able to rest, eat and live.
  • Having a cozy home where after a long day at work I can shed my work life and be with my husband and son.
  • The car club.  Who knew I’d like it? 
  • Having enough common sense to let some people go. (Now if I could stop wondering and seeing them roundabout online..) I’m not a big fan of RevRun, but someone on twitter that I follow retweeted this line: “saying good-bye isn’t saying I hate you, it’s saying, I love me.”  I get that.  I feel that inside, it resonates with me.
  • Having a solid job/career.  I talk to so many everyday who have lost or want jobs and are struggling.  I’m blessed to be where I am.
  • Hobbies.  I love me some embroidery these days.  And sewing, I feel successful after my diaper holder project a few weeks ago.  Next up, a skirt.  I can’t wait.
  • Education.  I was fortunate enough to have the determination and supports to make it.  I see now how rare it is for many people to finish. Life is hard.
  • Motivation.  I still have a bit more to learn & explore.
  • My family, my culture.
  • Wisdom from the success (and failures) of myself, those I love, those I don’t understand and those I treat.
  • My clients for reminding every day is a miracle and to embrace it.  That doesn’t mean every day is a peach, but it means that there’s always time to it’simportant reflect and to strive for kindness.  Many people have been kind to me & I’m grateful for the compassion.
  • My elders and their patience with my questioning, irrationality, anger, impulsiveness and my sarcasm. I have had many teachers and I am hopeful that continues for a long time.
  • The sound of my son’s voice and his laughter.
  • My husband’s stories, jokes and consistency.
  • The core of friends that really listen and celebrate all joys with me.  Thank you.
  • Ink pens.
  • Tea.
  • Girl scout cookies.
  • Email that’s personal.
  • Mail.
  • Being able to play Aion when the babe is asleep.
  • Bad television shows.
  • The sound and smell of rain.
  • Pork burritos, they sound dirty and taste good.
  • Experience.
  • New music.
  • Spring.

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

