It’s like “the season.”

It’s week 26.  Or so.  I’m really bad about keeping track of the weeks and days.  Some women I know who are preggo know the exact week and day.  I know the due date and I’m watching as the calendar days peel back in rapid pace and trying not to get too nervous or excited.  In two weeks we’ll hit the third trimester, very exciting! (Minus that whole massive growth phase.)

Speaking of massive growth, I can’t imagine how much more this kid will grow.  He’s on track for size, but seriously, he’s supposed to gain another 5, 6, or 7 pounds?  Where the heck am I going to fit him?  I can still see my feet, I like that.  And today, I struggled to give myself a pedicure.  I said the last one was the last one, but I had to try again-my toes looked all crazy half painted.  I’m mastering the sideways bending, rolling off the bed and now toenail painting.  Seriously, it’s a crazy set of skills.

Related:

Exercise hasn’t been happening all that much.  I try to walk around a lot at work and on the weekends, but I’m not on the treadmill anymore.  I’m told that bodes poorly for labor.  My attitude at this point is bite me, I’m tired and I’d rather be reading, in the tub, attempting to sew or eating.

The heartburn is still brutal when it strikes.  I’ve been reading a nursing labor and maternity book a co-worker loaned me and there’s evidently not much I can do but cope and stop making a big deal out of it.

Last night I got sick.  I was dizzy, nauseated, couldn’t hold anything down (despite being hungry) and had a gigantic headache.  I’m attributing it to being exhausted v having a cold.  I don’t want to get or be sick.  Especially not now.  It felt like a bad version of the first trimester.  Michael was trying to be helpful, but nothing made me feel better.  Thankfully, I fell asleep after some squirming and had today off, so I slept in late.  I’m working tomorrow, so I’m trying to not to do too much but still get things done.

I was telling Michael the other day that I felt bad for single pregnant women.  How the hell do they do it?  I mean who rubs their back?  Who makes late night runs for hot dogs and listens to them moan about how their ass hurts because it fell asleep while watching tv.  Who unloads their dishwashers?  Do they have dishwashers?  (Side note: I still don’t quite know how to load one correctly, things are always dirty when I do it.) Because really, even before the kid is born, there are a lot of changes happening and I can’t do nearly as much as I used be before baby on board.

Not to mention the hormones that sometimes come out of nowhere.  People at work laugh because all of a sudden I have this maternal instinct kick in when I hear about certain things.  Thank goodness for my co-workers, they’re so supportive and encouraging.  They feed us all the time, they encourage us to rest and they share stories about their kids and grandkids.  And the stuff, they’ve been giving us things along the way which has been ultra helpful.  Since neither of our families are nearby, I’ve started to feel like my co-workers are my serrogate family. We have some friends here, but we don’t see them as much as we’d like to.  (And frankly, some nights I hate to leave the house after I get home from work.)  They’re also a wealth of support & info.

We did get crib bedding, that was exciting.  We were so happy that we put it up.  Cheeto’s little crib is set up and his dresser has clothes in it.  Next we have to get the pack and play and his carrier.  We’re holding off on the stroller until after he’s born.  Everything else, we figure we’ll get along the way and continue to acquire as we need it.

People have asked what kinds of things we need.  Bigger boy clothes, 6+ months.  And well, anything else you feel will be helpful.  Since this is our first baby, we’re kind of eyeballing the “recommended” lists and asking people what they used the most and going from there.

Aside from that, not much going on.  The kid’s getting bigger, I’m getting tired more frequently and fanticizing about him being born.  I had my first dream about him and since then I can’t wait to actually see him.  He looked like Michael but with dark hair & he blinked at me.  Today, my stomach visibly moved from a few of his kicks.  So, it looks like I’ll be able to see and feel him moving now.  He still likes to kick around my lower abdomen.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

