vegetarian.

I’ve been meaning to blog more.  Clearly, it hasn’t happened.  Michael was in Florida for a week, he took my laptop and I went to NM to see my family.  I blame him for my lapse in blogging.  Going to NM was a lot of fun, it was a good trip.  My parents are super excited about the baby.  I got yelled at by my mom for calling the baby a guppie, I haven’t really called the baby a guppie since then.  Instead I refer to the child as: the kid, your kid (as in Michael’s baby), the vegetarian and he.

Side note: I went to pick tea with my parents and while we were tromping around the place all I could think about was how excited I was to share similar experiences with our baby.

I’m facinated by several things so far:

  • I’m starting to show, the bump under my shirt resembles a baby more than it does too much burrito.
  • The irony of pregnancy: how is it that I’m supposed to eat to avoid morning sickness-yet when I’m sick I can’t stand the thought, smell or sight of food.  Yet, eating is supposed to make morning sickness better.  It doesn’t make any sense to me. 
  • The last 8-9 days I’ve been throwing up 40% of everything I eat.
  • Today I held down all my food and had somewhat of an appetite.  I felt like a buffalo running around with food hanging out of my mouth.
  • Burping grape juice for two hours is a miserable way to spend two hours.
  • Everyone I know is voting for a baby girl.  I’m still not voting on sex, but I will say-twins!
  • I don’t have an inkling as to what the kid is.  So far I’ve heard many a story/old wive’s tales about what “a woman should know” and what I look like I’m having based on how I’m carrying the baby.
  • I’m facinated with the whole intuition thing about the sex. 
  • We are going to find out what the sex of the baby is. 

Pregnancy is a complex thing.  It’s amazing to me how many microchanges that have occurred in the last few weeks.  I’ve been prone to the first trimester hormonal flux.  There are periods when I’m so excited that I can’t wait to meet the baby and I want to fast forward to post delivery.  There are other periods where a commercial about juice where a mother rescues a dinosaur toy from the rain leaves me sobbing and ranting.  Then there are the bleak periods where I’m angry about being pregnant wishing I had done such and such thing or that my old clothess still fit.  And there are times when I think I must have lost my mind because now I have a new center of existance and it scares me.  Also, I wonder how people do this-have children/family-the sum of it overwhelms me. 

At the end of the day, I tend to feel more optimistic about the baby than not.  All of the people we love are excited about our baby.  Hearing, knowing and seeing the amount of excitement everyone has makes it all that much more special.  I can’t imagine what it would be like to have a baby absent of the support we have. 

I’m grateful for miracles that seem to happen daily.  I had to leave early from work one day because of “baby flu” (as my boss has dubbed it) and thought I’d die of embarrassment because I couldn’t stop crying or throwing up-not one said anything bad, the next day they all asked how I was and asked if I was hungry.  Fortunately, my boss and peers are very understanding and supportive.   

For my birthday we had a bbq.  It was a wonderful event filled with family and friends.  My future mother-in-law came into town early and pleasantly surprised me by taking me shopping for maternity clothes.  I’m still so grateful to her.  It was fun to shop with her and Michael’s sister.  I was glad to have women around as I tried on clothes and talked about the baby and our plans.  The bbq itself was exciting-everyone seemed happy and we ate, laughed and a few people stuck around to play rock band.

Things are unfolding as they should.

 

Leave a Reply

